Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Discovering Wes Moore (The Young Adult Adaptation)

Audiobook

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.

The story of "the other Wes Moore" is one that the author couldn't get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.

Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore's bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.

Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore

"Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly."—Publishers Weekly

"He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults."—Kirkus Reviews


Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780804121941
  • File size: 115857 KB
  • Release date: June 11, 2013
  • Duration: 04:01:22

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780804121941
  • File size: 115874 KB
  • Release date: June 11, 2013
  • Duration: 04:01:21
  • Number of parts: 4

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.

The story of "the other Wes Moore" is one that the author couldn't get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.

Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore's bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.

Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore

"Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly."—Publishers Weekly

"He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults."—Kirkus Reviews


Expand title description text